Section 8A, 8AA wrestling at REA

Twenty-two teams will be at the Ralph Engelstad Arena in Thief River Falls Saturday for the 2016 Section 8A and Section 8AA team high school wrestling tournaments.
First round matches will begin at 11 a.m. Quarterfinals are scheduled at 12:30 p.m. for Section 8A and at 2 p.m. for Section 8AA. 
Semifinals and finals in both classes are set for 4 and 6 p.m., respectively.
Defending champion Perham is the top seed in Section 8AA. 
Host Thief River Falls draws Fergus Falls as first round foe. The Prowlers and Otters are seeded No. 6 and No. 11, respectively, in the 12-team field. The winner will face No. 3 seed Ottertail Central, a cooperative program that includes Battle Lake, Henning and Underwood, in the quarterfinals.
Three-time defending champion Frazee is the top seed in the ten-team Section 8A line-up.  
The individual portions of the tournaments will be Feb. 19-20, with Section 8A taking place at Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton and Section 8AA at Fergus Falls.
Team champions and individual qualifiers will advance to the Minnesota state tournament Feb. 25-27 at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.
Section 8A
n Seeding positions – 1. Frazee; 2. Badger/Greenbush-Middle River; 3. Park Rapids Area; 4. Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton; 5. Fertile-Beltrami; 6. United North Central (Menahga, Sebeka); 7. Mahnomen/Waubun; 8. Roseau; 9. Crookston; 10. Red Lake County Central.
n First round,  11 a.m. – Crookston vs. Roseau; Mahnomen/ Waubun vs. Red Lake County Central.
n Quarterfinals, 12:30 p.m. – (Upper Bracket) Frazee vs. Crookston or Roseau; Fertile-Beltrami vs. Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton; (Lower Bracket) Park Rapids Area vs. United North Central; Badger/ Greenbush-Middle River vs. Mahnomen/Waubun or Red Lake County Central.
n Semifinals – 4 p.m.
n Championship – 6 p.m.
Section 8AA
n Seeding positions – 1. Perham; 2. Bemidji; 3. Ottertail Central (Battle Lake, Henning, Underwood); 4. Sauk Centre/Melrose; 5. Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus; 6. Thief River Falls; 7. Detroit Lakes; 8. Fosston/Bagley; 9. MAHACA (Morris Area, Hancock, Chokio-Alberta); 10. United Clay Becker (Hawley, Lake Park-Audubon); 11. Fergus Falls; 12. East Grand Forks/Sacred Heart.
n First round, 11 a.m. – Thief River Falls vs. Fergus Falls; Detroit Lakes vs. United Clay Becker; Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus vs. East Grand Forks/Sacred Heart;
         MAHACA vs. Fosston/Bagley.   
n Quarterfinals, 2 p.m. – (Upper Bracket) Perham vs. MAHACA or Fosston/Bagley; Sauk Centre/ Melrose vs. Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus or East Grand Forks/Sacred Heart (Lower Bracket) Ottertail Central vs. Fergus Falls or Thief River Falls; Bemidji vs. Detroit Lakes or United Clay Becker.
n Semifinals – 4 p.m.
n Championship – 6 p.m.