TRF girls have hockey banquet

Presentation of all-section and all-state awards helped cap the 2015-16 Thief River Falls girls high school hockey season at the Prowlers’ annual team banquet.
All-Section 8A honors went to Kora Torkelson, Briana Jorde and Callie Fagerstrom (First Team); Tessa Jorde, Mariah Nelson and Juliet Tunberg (Second) Team); Madison Poole and Ava Marolt (honorable mention).
Minnesota Girls Hockey Coaches Association Class A all-state recognition went to Briana Jorde and Tessa Jorde. Torkelson was given all-state honorable mention status.
The Prowlers went 20-6-1 this winter. Their bid to defend a Class A state title won in 2015 ended with a 3-1 loss to Warroad in the Section 8A tournament finals at the Ralph Engelstad Arena.
While they fell short of returning to St. Paul, the 2015-16 Prowlers continued a run of excellence. Since 2010-11 Thief River Falls has averaged just over 20 wins per season. That stretch includes successive finishes of 17-7-1, 19-6-2, 19-6-1, 24-2, 26-1-3 and 20-6-1.
Six Thief River Falls seniors completed their high school hockey careers this season: Tunberg, Kira Johnson, Kaylee Eskeli, Alexee Nelson, Briana Jorde and Abbie Olson.
Underclassmen on the Prowlers’ 2016 tournament team included juniors Claire Mattson, Hannah Enge, Erin Kraemer, Poole, Fagerstrom, Marolt, Torkelson, Nelson; sophomores Tessa Jorde, Grace Bergland, Erin Retka, Jaimee Nelson; freshman Faith Porter; and eighth grader Khloe Lund.
Whitney Restemayer completed her second year as the Prowlers’ head coach this winter. Shoan Nelson and Kaitlin Lund served as assistant coaches.